Chaired by Contemporary Art Society trustee Antje Gézcy, our 2013 gala WANDERLUST explored the diverse ways in which artists travel in their imaginations to alternative realities: sometimes travelling back in time through the history of art, sometimes to parallel universes, and sometimes to the future and beyond.

Set in the spectacular subterranean Old Vic Tunnels in Waterloo, the evening was filled with surprise, mystery and intrigue as guests donned a huge variety of creative and inspirational costumes to celebrate heroes from the past and fantasies of the future! With two tunnels displaying artworks especially commissioned to reflect the theme of the gala, each fixed to bespoke wooden neon structures, guests were invited to travel from zone to zone before finally finding themselves in the grand baroque-styled dining hall being served by space age waiters.

The WANDERLUST auction featured a range of specially commissioned original works of art from internationally celebrated, world-class artists including Fiona Banner, Edward Burtynsky, Simon Periton, Conrad Shawcross, Saskia Olde Wolbers, Clare Woods, Toby Ziegler and Jennifer Steinkamp whose work, Ronnie Reagan 3, was the runaway success of the evening, far exceeding its pre-sale estimate to fetch a hammer price of £36,000.

Thanks to the generous support of all who attended, we raised in excess of £240,000 on the night to benefit the mission of the Contemporary Art Society.

To view the WANDERLUST catalogue (pdf) click here

Full list of artists featured in WANDERLUST (click on artist name to view individual catalogue page):

Henny Aclogue
Annie Attridge
Fiona Banner
Sara Barker
GL Brierley
Laura Buckley
Edward Burtynsky
Shezad Dawood
Marcin Dudek
Ayan Farah
Alistair Frost
Rachel Goodyear
Naomie Goudal
Raphael Hefti
Alex Hoda
Kerstin Kartscher
Oliver Laric
Lorna MacIntyre
Ryan Moseley
Saskia Olde Wolbers
Peles Empire
Simon Periton
Sarah Pickstone
Laure Prouvost
Ged Quinn
Ivan Seal
Conrad Shawcross
Veronica Smirnoff
David B. Smith
Jennifer Steinkampf
Dolly Thompsett
Mimei Thompson
Francis Upritchard
Harm van den Dorpel
Sophie von Hellerman
Sinta Werner
Clare Woods
Toby Ziegler

Nicholas Berwin, Myriam Blundell, Philippa Bradley, Daniela Colaiacovo, Laurence Coste, Sarah Elson, Antje Géczy (Chair), Joanna Gemes, Kira Heuer, Paul Hobson, Linda Keyte , Michael King, Audrey Klein, Martina Klemmer, Zach Leonard, Fatima Maleki, Valeria Napoleone, Olga Ovenden, Veronique Parke, Françoise Sarre Rapp, Ellen Shapiro, Dasha Shenkman, Mark Stephens, Cathy Wills, Dina Wulfsohn, Anita Zabludowicz, Henry Zarb, Jill Zarzycki


Stay up to date with the latest news and events and receive our monthly newsletter.


Support Us

Donations of all sizes help sustain emerging artists at the beginning of their careers and ensure that their work has inspirational impact on audiences across the UK