Contemporary Art Society Annual Award (2009-2015)

One of the highest value contemporary art prizes in the country, the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award for Museums (2009-2015) supports a UK-based museum or public gallery to work with an artist of their choice to commission a new work that enters into the museum’s permanent collection.

The £40,000 prize has a major impact on both the winning museum and their chosen artist: for the winning museum, the award allows the acquisition of an ambitious work of contemporary art of national importance, and for the winning artist (who may be showing widely nationally and internationally but whose work is not represented in collections in this country), the award is a stepping stone to greater visibility and provides access to national and international audiences.

Recipients of the award were: The Graves Art Gallery, Museums Sheffield (with artist Kateřina Šedá) in 2009; the Hepworth Wakefield, Wolverhampton Art Gallery and Film and Video Umbrella (with Turner Prize nominated artist Luke Fowler) in 2010; Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery (with artist Christina Mackie) in 2011; The Collection & Usher Gallery, Lincoln (with artist Oliver Laric) 2012; Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology in partnership with the Pitt Rivers Museum and the Ruskin School of Drawing & Fine Art (with artist Elizabeth Price) in 2013, Harris Museum and Art Gallery (with artist Nathaniel Mellors) in 2014 and last year’s winners: The Whitworth, The University of Manchester, with Stephen Sutcliffe and Graham Eatough (in partnership with LUX).