News: Turner Prize 2012 Shortlist Announced

1 May 2012 By
Elizabeth Price at BALTIC

The Contemporary Art Society would like to congratulate this year’s nominees for the Turner Prize: Spartacus Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Paul Noble and Elizabeth Price.

We are delighted to have closely supported three of the nominees as part of our important mission to develop public collections of contemporary art across the UK.

Elizabeth Price’s User Group Disco (2009) was recently gifted to the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and was the charity lot at this year’s Contemporary Art Society Fundraiser LEAP! The work is currently on display in The Sculpture Show at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art (26 March – 24 June).

The winners of the 2010 Contemporary Art Society Annual Award were The Hepworth Wakefield and Wolverhampton Art Gallery in association with Film and Video Umbrella for their proposal with artist Luke Fowler. The award of £60,000 enabled the two museums to commission the artist to make a new work that will be acquired jointly for their collections. This major new film commission will be exhibited at the Hepworth Wakefield in a special display this summer (23 June – 14 October).

As part of the Contemporary Art Society Society’s Special Collection Scheme, Middlesbrough Institute of Art (mima) was gifted Paul Noble’s work Unified Nobson (2001) in 2007.

More information can be found here.

Image: Elizabeth Price, User Group Disco (still), 2009, HD Video, 15 min, courtesy the artist and MOT International