Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014 Reception Evening

Contemporary Art Society Annual Award reception at the Dairy Art Centre, 2013
Contemporary Art Society Annual Award reception at the Dairy Art Centre, 2013

24 November 2014


Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2Y 8DS

Patrons and Members and by invitation only

Now in its sixth year, the prestigious £40,000 prize is one of the country’s highest value contemporary art awards. This unique commissioning award is presented by the Contemporary Art Society to a regional museum or public gallery with a nominated artist. The prize offers the winning regional museum the opportunity to commission a major new artwork for their permanent collection by an artist who is not yet well represented in museum collections in this country.

The four shortlisted museums and their nominated artists for the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014 are:

 – Harris Museum & Art Gallery with Nathaniel Mellors

– Leeds Art Gallery with Becky Beasley

 – Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art with Marvin Gaye Chetwynd

 – Whitworth Art Gallery with Martin Boyce

The winner will be announced at a special ceremony at the Barbican on 24 November 2014.  The presenter of this 2014 award will be announced later this autumn, with previous high-profiled presenters including Grayson Perry, Cornelia ParkerJeremy Deller and Mark Wallinger.

The members of the Annual Award 2014 jury are: Paul Bonaventura (Senior Research Fellow in Fine Art Studies, University of Oxford), Helen Legg (Director, Spike Island, Bristol), Tom Morton (Writer, Curator and contributing Editor, Frieze) and Eva Rothschild (Artist).


Stay up to date with the latest news and events and receive our monthly newsletter.


Support Us

Donations of all sizes help sustain emerging artists at the beginning of their careers and ensure that their work has inspirational impact on audiences across the UK