• Search Icon
  • Toggle Menu
  • Close Menu

The Art

Search for information about all the works of art and craft we have donated to museums

The Annual Award

digital film

© Nathaniel Mellors.

Commission to Collect

2009 - 2015

One of the highest value contemporary art prizes in the country, the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award for Museums supports a UK-based museum or public gallery to work with an artist of their choice to commission a new work that enters into the museum’s permanent collection.

The £40,000 prize has a major impact on both the winning museum and their chosen artist: for the winning museum, the award allows the acquisition of an ambitious work of contemporary art of national importance, and for the winning artist (who may be showing widely nationally and internationally but whose work is not represented in collections in this country), the award is a stepping stone to greater visibility and provides access to national and international audiences.

Thank you for your support Sfumato Foundation.

Christina Mackie and The Nottingham Castle Museum 2011 Winners

The Contemporary Art Society has announced Christina Mackie and the Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery as the winning proposal for its Annual Award.

Nathaniel Mellors 2014 Winner

Nathaniel Mellors, in partnership with the Harris Museum & Art Gallery, has won the Contemporary Art Society Award 2014. Mellors will create a film that will form the centrepiece of a 15 month exhibition on the themes of Samuel Beckett and The Theatre of the Absurd.


Browse historic acquisitions through the Annual Award - Commission to Collect.

Special Projects